Philly’s Native Hip Hop Artist, Freeway, Walks With Purpose

More than 3,500 people took a lifesaving step in the fight against kidney disease by participating in the National Kidney Foundation’s 14th Annual Kidney Walk on October 11th. This year’s Kidney Walk was hosted by former Roc-A-Fella Records artist and Philadelphia native MC, Freeway.

Freeway Ribbon Cutting

“My experience at the 14th Annual Kidney Walk was wonderful and the love I received from the people was breathtaking,” said Freeway. “I feel as though it’s important to educate people on early detection of kidney disease and awareness. I will continue to spread the message and I am looking forward to more events like this.”

Last month, without warning, the 37-year-old State Property MC and North Philadelphia native was diagnosed with kidney failure.

“I had a routine physical with my primary care doctor,” Freeway said. “The next week, I got a call from my doctor who told me to get to the closest emergency room because my kidney levels were off. My kidneys were failing and I didn’t even realize it. I was in tears trying to understand it all.”

Freeway is committed to raising awareness of kidney disease and ensuring Philadelphians stay on top of their kidney health.

Team Freedom Fighters

Team Philadelphia Freedom Fighters

The event, held at the Philadelphia Art Museum raised more than $400,000 to help fund awareness, prevention and treatment programs aimed at bettering the lives of kidney patients, their families and those at risk.

For more information or to participate in a Kidney Walk near you, visit www.kidneywalk.org. To learn more about kidney disease, risk factors and ways to protect your kidneys, visit, www.kidney.org.

The National Kidney Foundation is the leading organization in the U.S. dedicated to the awareness, prevention and treatment of kidney disease for hundreds of thousands of healthcare professionals, millions of patients and their families, and tens of millions of Americans at risk. Learn more about kidney disease and the Kidney Walk at www.kidneywalk.org.

View footage from NBC10 of Freeway at the Philadelphia Kidney Walk here: Rapper Freeway Raises Kidney Disease Awareness at Philly Kidney Walk

One thought on “Philly’s Native Hip Hop Artist, Freeway, Walks With Purpose

  1. My name is Derek E. Payne aka “Get Busy”. I was the EMCEE for the 2015 Wilmington Kidney Walk. I recieved my kidney transplant on 5/26/15 at Christiana Hospital by Dr. Swanson the head surgeon of the Christiana Transplant Team. After nine years of Dialysis I was blessed with the kidney of a ten year old boy who had a massive coronary thrombosis. Footage from the Wilmington Kidney Walk can be seen by going to my Facebook Page at Derek Evan Payne.
    I am currently producing a video documentary entitled “Hemodialysis In America” in the effort to raise donor awareness and explain how severe Kidney Disease is and how millions of people are in need of kidney donations. (Cash Donations to support the documentary “Hemodialysis In America” can be sent to) https://www.gofundme.com/DerekPayne
    I would like this message to be relayed to the rapper Philly Freeway so I may help coach him throughtout his new lifestyle during dialysis while waiting for a Kidney Transplant.

Leave a Reply

