Greetings from guest blogger Alli Young, a 2014 National Kidney Walk Ambassador!

Written by: Alli, a 2014 National Kidney Walk Ambassador

Hi everybody my name is Alli Young and I am from New Jersey! At the age of 14, I was diagnosed with Stage 3 Chronic Kidney Disease, specifically Focal Segmental Glomerulsclerosis (FSGS). I was misdiagnosed multiple times and because of that I have had a significant loss of kidney function. I was diagnosed at the beginning of my freshman year and while everyone was picking out his or her first day of school outfits, I was at the doctor’s office trying to figure out how to treat this disease that turned my life upside down. One thing that I have learned in the past two years is that kidney disease does not define me and that it only motivates me to be a better person.

For the past two and a half years I have been volunteering with the National Kidney Foundation. I have raised over $10,000 and formed my own team called Alli’s Army. I love to initiate new relationships with people and motivate them to live life to the fullest. Last year I was the Kids for Kidneys Captain and this year I am the Ambassador of the National Kidney Foundation. Inspiration can only come from within and even when I am having a bad day I turn it around by putting smiles on everyone’s faces. Enough about me what you should really know is that there is a life beyond kidney disease and any disease as a matter of fact. When life gives you lemons you make bright yellow lemonade.

Every week I will be blogging about a different topic on kidney disease and if you have any questions or just want to talk I will always be here for you. Thanks for reading and I can’t wait to learn about your journey and educate you about kidney disease!! Next weeks topic will be about how kidney disease changes your life and what modifications you will have to make to live your life the way you want to live it.

A healthy attitude is contagious but don’t wait to catch it from others. Be a carrier.”  –Tom Stoppard

6 thoughts on “Greetings from guest blogger Alli Young, a 2014 National Kidney Walk Ambassador!

  1. I love your spirit and contagious attitude. Keep it up. I am also a ESRD patient for the last 14 years and don’t let it define me either. Bless you!!

    • Hi Peggy,
      Sorry I wasn’t able to get back sooner great to know there are many other people that push through this disease!! Would love to talk sometime.

  2. Hi Alli,
    Last summer my feet and legs would swell from time to time I was only mildly concerned. In December I would wake up with swollen hands and face. Now I see a doctor and I feel crazy. I have kidney disease suddenly high cholestral and hypertension and protein in urine.
    The list of foods I can eat changes all the time. I confused znd upset.
    Thanks for listening,
    Mare

    • Hi Mare,
      I am sorry I didn’t reply sooner. I would love to talk sometime. I have some great ideas for diet. I am sorry you don’t feel well I know exactly how you feel and have some things that may help you. Let me know which way is best to contact you. Thanks!

  3. Greetings to you Alli; I’m floored at the awesome spirit and determination you have, you are for sure a very special individual. Reading your story has allowed me to share this much of mine, about three (3) years ago on March 14th 2011 I had one (1) of my kidneys totally removed to save my life. Can you believe that ; and that surgery change my life completely in a very real sense of the word. Well fast forwarding to today I’ve just recently was put in contact with the kidney foundation. I’m very excited about that because now I can truly do my best to make a difference in so many peoples lives by bringing awareness into their lives by letting them know what the kidney foundation can do for them. Not to mention the valuable information they can educate themselves with. I just would like to take this time to say to alli thank you so very much for sharing your unique story it’s truly special.

  4. Hi All i, what a beautiful heartfelt story.. you brought tears to my eyes. I been very fustrated with kidney failure. I’m diabetic and I’m deaf. I asked for help but was told no help for deaf people with counseling. I don’t want to bore you with my story but can be very depressing at times. You take care. You are one gifted young lady. Thanks For your listening ears CONSTANCE

Leave a Reply

